|Purpose: To illuminate the U.S. Army's past and present roles in the New York metropolitan area with special focus on the city's harbor defenses and the Coast Artillery Corps at historic Fort Hamilton. The museum is funded by the U.S. Army Garrison, Fort Hamilton for the educational benefit of civilians and soldiers.
Genuine Model 1844 flank howitzer mounted in the caponier.
Facilities: The museum is located in the caponier of the old fort on the grounds of the United States Army Garrison at Fort Hamilton, Brooklyn, NY, adjacent to the base of the Verrazano Bridge. Now a national historic landmark, construction on old Fort Hamilton began in 1825. The fort underwent several structural modifications in the following century as advances in weaponry required the upgrading of its defenses and urban progress crowded its position. Fortunately, the land side of the fort still retains much of its original character and the caponier (a miniature fort guarding the main fort's gate) is virtually untouched. The museum contains artifacts and exhibits that explain the history of the fort and its role in the defense of New York from invaders. The museum is handicapped accessible. Parking for cars is next to the museum. Bus parking is available on post. The museum office has an extensive research library on local and military history, which is open by appointment.
Collections: United States Army uniforms, accoutrements and equipment, edged weapons, small arms, cannon and munitions from 1800 to present; models, dioramas and miniatures of New York soldiers through history; artifacts relating to Fort Hamilton, the defense of New York City and the Coast Artillery, and military themed fine art.
Current & Future Exhibitions: Defense of New York City, New York Soldiers Through History: A Collection in Miniature, 24 pounder flank howitzer mounted in the caponier, walking tours of the fort's defenses. The Defense of New York exhibit is gradually being removed to make wave to a new permanent exhibit entitled "The History of Fort Hamilton 1825 to Present".
Hours: Visitation from 10:00am to 4:00pm weekdays and the 2nd Saturday of the month. Guided tours hourly by appointment. Checked the recorded phone message at (718) 630-4349 for special events and unscheduled closings.
Admission: Free. Donations accepted.
For Directions click here!